Jump to content


If this site has saved you money please feel free to donate a little of the saving


Great value Unlimited Broadband from an award winning provider


Photo

Dashboard Fuses


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 crooner

crooner

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:glasgow

Posted 29 June 2018 - 02:35 PM

hi ,i'm trying to find out how to access the dashboard fuses for a citroen C3 2013 vti 86 i know where they are located but don't know how to drop the fuse board , i used to have a C3 2004 that you turn white lever to 9 o clock & the fuse board dropped down for access ,don't see any levers on my replacement car 

thanks in advance


  • 0

#2 paul.h

paul.h

    Moderator

  • Validating
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,701 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 June 2018 - 09:39 PM

We had a 2010 1.4 vti 95 hp petrol C3 and to get to the dash fuses you opened the glove box and the square panel then seen at the left side had to be prised off. You can manage this with fingers and a screwdriver is not really needed to lever it off.The code reader port is also behind this panel.

 

If you are thinking of buying this car, beware that the petrol vti engine has some weaknesses (these might not apply to the 3 cylinder one). Ours used oil at about 1 litre about every 2000 miles. The timing chains can need replacing at as low as 50000 miles - ours did but we part exchanged it with the problem at the dealer for a diesel Cactus, not wanting a vti engine again. If it has manual air conditioning, check that the warm air rotary knob works easily, on ours the warm air flap stopped moving easily and we had to replace the complete heater unit. Due to the air con refrigerant it was a dealer job costing over £1000. The car was easy to diy service though.



#3 crooner

crooner

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:glasgow

Posted 30 June 2018 - 02:03 PM

too late paul already bought it , it's only done 33,000 miles & i only do 8,000 a year so hopefully timing chain will be okay for a while ,

not familiarized myself with the car yet ,but the air con seems to be working okay , i can see where the fuses are behind the square panel you mention ,

but i need to get access to put a piggy back fuse in for my dashcam ,so how do i drop the fuse board ?


  • 0

#4 paul.h

paul.h

    Moderator

  • Validating
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,701 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 July 2018 - 11:21 AM

To remove the glove box bsi fuse board it is not as easy as the earlier C3.

 

On this one the glove box lid needs removing (open the lid, at the bottom are 2 pins that need pushing in to the middle of the lid and removing, it needs unclipping from the ram and then the lid can be removed), the square fuse box cover already mentioned before and the panel at the right end of the dash need prising off, remove a switch top right of the glove box, the glove box then needs removing by undoing some screws top/bottom and right side and then unclipping it. Then to get the fuse board out, after disconnecting the battery, unplug any connectors, unclip it at the bottom then push it up to get it out of the side clips and then pull down and out.

 

I did an internet search on problems on the 82 vti engine and did not find anything, so it looks promising for its reliability.



#5 crooner

crooner

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:glasgow

Posted 02 July 2018 - 11:25 AM

thanks paul 


  • 0

#6 crooner

crooner

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:glasgow

Posted 02 July 2018 - 08:02 PM

hi paul,  i didn't fancy dismantling the glove box , so i just took the  square fuse box cover off  used a 12v circuit tester to find a fuse that goes off with the ignition ,took the 3 black plugs that support the small panel under the glove box , which allowed me to get my hand up the back & fit a piggy back fuse  

camera is up & running 

 

thanks again paul 


  • 0




Ford Galaxy Owner Club