Jump to content


If this site has saved you money please feel free to donate a little of the saving


Great value Unlimited Broadband from an award winning provider


Photo

C3. Slave Battery Under Passenger Seat


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Bluebird16

Bluebird16

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bognor Regis
  • Interests:Speedway
    target shooting

Posted 16 February 2018 - 12:00 PM

I have a C3 2014 eHDi 1.6 with start Stop system I have replaced the Battery under the bonnet AGM Type as spec
S/S Still Not working ..shut procedure followed,, I have read about a motorcycle style battery under passenger seat ,But I can’t see anything,no cover
The reason I replaced battery, The car was standing I Think for about 9 Months plus forecourt time and only worked intermittently
So as I intend to keep the car I decided to fit a new battery for peace of mind
Also Capacitor has been mentioned as they “ decide the charge rate “ I might be talking ALoad of Tosh
Any Help would be appreciated
  • 0

#2 paul.h

paul.h

    Moderator

  • Validating
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,741 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 February 2018 - 01:53 PM

The stop/start ecu and capacitor are inside the front left wing, needing the wheel arch liner removing to get to them. If the ecu is replaced it needs to be programmed but I am not sure if the same applies to the capacitor. If your car is still under warranty then I would get the dealer to sort this out, it probably needs a diagnostic to decide what the fault is. Before touching the capacitor it should be discharged using a special tool so possibly not a diy job. Capacitor replacement and initialisation takes about 1½ hours. The capacitor part might be 9677002780 or 9801739380 but this needs to be checked using your car VIN. This gives you an idea of what they look like https://www.ebay.co....C-/381874582494

 

Our C4 has stop/start but we switch it off to help preserve the battery and alternator/starter since these are expensive to replace.



#3 Bluebird16

Bluebird16

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bognor Regis
  • Interests:Speedway
    target shooting

Posted 17 February 2018 - 07:10 AM

Hi Paul
Many Thanks for your reply
We are going from Bognor Regis ( someone has to live there ) to Cambridge today so I’m hoping this long drive Kick it into being

MANY THANKS FOR YOUR HELP

Steve
  • 0

#4 Bluebird16

Bluebird16

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bognor Regis
  • Interests:Speedway
    target shooting

Posted 22 February 2018 - 05:40 PM

Hi Paul
Just to let you know my Long Drive to Cambridge didn’t work
I’ve booked the car in next week with a local electrical guy and I’ll let you know what he says for future reference

Many Thanks

Steve
  • 0

#5 paul.h

paul.h

    Moderator

  • Validating
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,741 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 February 2018 - 09:19 PM

The electrical guy will probably need Citroen diagnostic equipment to check your car so I would ask about this before you see him.



#6 Bluebird16

Bluebird16

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bognor Regis
  • Interests:Speedway
    target shooting

Posted 18 March 2018 - 05:04 PM

Hi PAUL
Sorry not got back to you earlier
Had to cancel garage visit due to snow
Drove 300 yards and stuttered to a stop. Bells and whistles
Managed to get home after a couple of restarts limped Home trekked out bought a Fuel filter because it was so icy I thought I’d give it a try
Bingo it started fine ,,, found I had water in the Diesel line which must have frozen ,,,Then we went on holiday So am booking it in with the garage tomorrow Monday
Will let you know how I get on
Regards

Steve
  • 0




Ford Galaxy Owner Club